IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

IN RE: CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACT PLAN

	FILED	
	DEC - 7 2022	
С	ERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT NORFOLK, VA	

CJA COMMITTEE APPOINTMENT ORDER

On November 6, 2019, the Judicial Council of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit approved the Criminal Justice Act Plan ("CJA Plan") for this Court. Section VIII(A)(1) of the CJA Plan provides that the Court, in consultation with the Federal Public Defender, shall appoint three divisional CJA Committees that shall consist of one district judge, one magistrate judge, one federal public defender attorney, two CJA Panel attorneys and an *ex officio* staff member employed by the Clerk's Office. The members of the respective CJA Committees in each division shall meet at least twice a year or as otherwise provided in the CJA Plan.

The Court entered its initial CJA Committee Appointment Order on December 18, 2019, appointing a CJA Committee effective January 1, 2020. Under the Plan, membership on the CJA Committee is for a term of three years, may be extended for an additional three years, and terms shall be staggered to ensure continuity. Therefore, in accordance with the Plan, **and effective January 1**, **2023**, the following are hereby appointed to the CJA Committee in their respective divisions:

Alexandria Division

Michael S. Nachmanoff, United States District Judge, Chair (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Ivan Davis, United States Magistrate Judge (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Geremy Kamens, Federal Public Defender (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Nina J. Ginsberg, CJA Panel Attorney (2-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Pleasant S. Brodnax, CJA Panel Attorney (1-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Operations Manager, *Ex Officio* Staff Member (2-year term beginning January 1, 2023)

Norfolk/Newport News Division

Arenda L. Wright Allen, United States District Judge, Chair (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Douglas E. Miller, United States Magistrate Judge (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Rodolfo Cejas, II, Assistant Federal Public Defender (1-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Emily M. Munn, CJA Panel Attorney (2-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Shawn Cline, CJA Panel Attorney (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Operations Manager, *Ex Officio* Staff Member (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023)

Richmond Division

Roderick C. Young, United States District Judge, Chair (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Mark R. Colombell, United States Magistrate Judge (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Nia A. Vidal, Assistant Federal Public Defender (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) William J. Dinkin, CJA Panel Attorney (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) Charles Gavin, CJA Panel Attorney (3-year term beginning January 1, 2024) Operations Manager, *Ex Officio* Staff Member (3-year term beginning January 1, 2023) The following judges are designated under Section IX(C)(4) and Section IX(C)(6)(e) of the CJA Plan to appoint and reappoint attorneys to the CJA Panel after considering the recommendations of the CJA Committee:

Alexandria Division

Leonie M. Brinkema, United States District Judge

Norfolk/Newport News Division

Mark S. Davis, Chief United States District Judge

Richmond Division

M. Hannah Lauck, United States District Judge

The Clerk shall provide a copy of this Order to all of the Court's District Judges and Magistrate Judges, the District's Federal Public Defender and CJA Panel attorneys, and shall also post the Order on the Court's website.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Mark S. Davis CHIEF UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Dated: December 1, 2022